Page 6 · The Open Items
What is not established
Ten questions left unsettled, each one stated as what was looked for, what came back, and what would close it. Several are closed by a single request from an allowlisted node. The full source list follows, grouped by the page that uses it, with the date each was read.
01Coins minted and coins burned cannot be separated
The endpoint that serves both totals is the Scan API of Splice, the open-source software the super validator nodes run, and it is IP-allowlisted on MainNet. All 13 super validator scan hosts answered HTTP 403, and the Splice validator onboarding document states that joining MainNet requires an allowlisted IP and an onboarding secret from a sponsor. What can be computed is the difference: 46.526 billion coins authorised since round 0 against 39.592 billion reported by CoinGecko and CoinMarketCap, a gap of 6.935 billion coins. That gap is coins burned plus issuance capacity nobody claimed. An allowlisted node reading round-totals would close it. Two community indexes give partial third-party readings. ccscan.xyz reports 40.38 billion coins minted and 54.12 million burned as fees since genesis; cctools reports 15.6 million burned in a single day, and the Foundation dashboard shows $1.5 million of daily fees. The burned figures differ by three orders of magnitude, so the two sites count different things under that word, and neither replaces the round totals.02Five super validator counts, five definitions
The Global Synchronizer’s governance snapshot lists 13 node identities held by 11 organisations. The Canton Foundation’s MainNet configuration lists the same 13 approved identities and 75 parties receiving reward weight through them. The Canton ecosystem directory tags 56 organisations as super validators, and the Canton Foundation’s dashboard shows 58 super validator nodes, credited on the page to The Tie. Visa’s own release of 25 March 2026 says Visa will be one of 40 super validators. No published document reconciles the 56, the 58 and the 40 against each other, and no page states the definition behind its own figure.03Where Broadridge's repo settles
Broadridge reports $357 billion a day and $7.5 trillion for June 2026 on its Distributed Ledger Repo platform. Its product page says the platform is built on Canton technology. Whether that traffic passes through the Global Synchronizer or through a private synchronizer is not stated on any page read. The distinction decides whether the volume is visible in the Global Synchronizer’s own data at all, because a private synchronizer publishes nothing by construction.04The measurement basis of the $6T figure
canton.network states $6T+ of tokenized real-world assets, $300B+ of daily U.S. Treasury repo trades, 700+ connected firms and $2T+ tokenized every month. The Linux Foundation release of 19 March 2025 stated over $3.6 trillion. No page on canton.network, canton.foundation or digitalasset.com was found that defines what is being counted: assets issued, assets administered, assets reachable through an application, or assets settled. Without that definition the figures cannot be compared with RWA.xyz’s $319.15 billion of represented asset value or with anything else.05Whether CIP-0067 executed, and for how much
CIP-0067 was approved on 21 July 2025 and authorised a one-time allocation of historical unclaimed validator rewards to the Global Synchronizer Foundation. The proposal expected 1.6 to 1.7 billion coins to transfer and set no lock-up or vesting schedule. No published record of the transfer executing, or of the final amount, was found. The Foundation separately holds reward weight in the live configuration, which is a different channel to the same body and should not be added to it.06Community dashboards and the chain disagree on four numbers
cctools.network showed mining round 115,849 on 14 September 2026. The Global Synchronizer’s own snapshot showed round 113,220 a few hours later, 2,629 rounds lower, which is about 18 days at a 10-minute round. No explanation for the difference was found. cctools also computes a fully diluted valuation against a 100 billion maximum supply, which the whitepaper does not state. It labels the issuance steps halvings, a word the whitepaper does not use. On the reward split it shows 62% apps, 20% super validators, 13% validators and 5% to a development fund, against 62%, 20%, 18% and a null development-fund percentage in the live issuance config. The two community indexes also disagree with each other on the transaction count: cctools shows 548.27 million all time and ccscan 347.80 million aggregated over 812 days, read a day apart.07An independent validator count
The endpoint that would answer this, the validator licences path on the Scan API, is behind the same allowlist. The only public figures are 732 validators on the Canton Foundation dashboard, credited to The Tie, and about 1,000 on cctools, which rounds. The governance snapshot does not enumerate validators. No independently measured count was found.08The live traffic price, and the first listing
The whitepaper’s launch parameter was $17 per megabyte. The governance snapshot read on 15 September 2026 shows an extraTrafficPrice of 60.0 in the synchronizer fee configuration. Whether that field is the successor to the $17 figure, in dollars per megabyte, is not confirmed against the Splice configuration reference. CIP-0084 hands its tuning to a Tokenomics Committee. The exact timestamp and venue of Canton Coin’s first public spot listing are also unsettled: CIP-0092 was approved on 7 November 2025 and CoinGecko’s price series begins on 10 November 2025, which places the listing inside that window.09Names found only as a logo, and names not found at all
14 institutions appear on the roster with a directory or membership entry as the whole of the evidence and no document describing what they do: AXA Investment Managers, bp, Castleton Commodities International, Citi, EY, Fidelity International, Koch Energy Services, KPMG, Luxembourg Stock Exchange, Mercuria Energy America, Shell Energy North America, Sygnum Bank, Union Investment, Wells Fargo. A further 12 names were searched for and placed at no grade: Temasek, Brevan Howard, Fidelity Investments, Barclays, Bank of England, Monetary Authority of Singapore, Mana Group, PwC, Komainu, Anchorage Digital, Round13, Coinbase (the exchange). Each of those searches covered the ecosystem directory, the Canton Foundation lists, the proposal index and the institution’s own domain. Absence from those sources shows only that nothing was published where the search went.10Reddit and X are unmeasured
Reddit answered HTTP 403 to both the search endpoint and the subreddit endpoint, so the existence and subscriber count of r/CantonNetwork are unverified. x.com answered HTTP 402 to an unauthenticated fetch and socialblade answered 403. Follower counts were not collected for any asset in the basket. Both gaps apply to every comparator equally, and neither is a reading of zero.
The endpoints
What answered, and what refused
Anyone repeating this will meet one host trap. The public governance host serves a documentation site at its root and returns that same HTML with HTTP 200 for any unknown path, so a 200 is not evidence that an endpoint exists. The content type has to be checked before the body is parsed.
Answered · 15
- https://docs.global.canton.network.sync.global/info
- https://docs.global.canton.network.sync.global/dso
- https://docs.global.canton.network.sync.global/versions
- https://docs.global.canton.network.sync.global/voterequests
- https://docs.test.global.canton.network.sync.global/info
- https://docs.test.global.canton.network.sync.global/dso
- https://docs.dev.global.canton.network.sync.global/info
- https://docs.dev.global.canton.network.sync.global/dso
- https://raw.githubusercontent.com/canton-foundation/configs/refs/heads/main/configs/MainNet/approved-sv-id-values.yaml
- https://api.cctools.network/api/v1/public/status
- https://api.cctools.network/api/v1/openapi.json
- https://api.llama.fi/v2/chains
- https://api.llama.fi/protocols
- https://api.llama.fi/v2/historicalChainTvl/Canton
- https://app.rwa.xyz/networks/canton (data in __NEXT_DATA__)
Refused · 17
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.digitalasset.com/api/scan/v0/* -> 403 'RBAC: access denied'
- https://scan.sv-2.global.canton.network.digitalasset.com/api/scan/v0/* -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.sync.global/api/scan/v0/* -> 403 nginx
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.c7.digital -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.cumberland.io -> 403
- https://scan.sv-2.global.canton.network.cumberland.io -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.mpch.io -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.lcv.mpch.io -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.orb1lp.mpch.io -> 403
- https://scan.sv.global.canton.network.sv-nodeops.com -> 403
- https://scan.sv.global.canton.network.tradeweb.com -> 403
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.proofgroup.xyz -> 403 'Forbidden'
- https://scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.fivenorth.io -> 403 'Access denied'
- https://api.cctools.network/api/v1/public/* (all but /status) -> 403 {"error":"Forbidden"} without X-API-Key
- https://ccview.io/api/* -> 401 API_KEY_REQUIRED
- https://api.rwa.xyz/v4/networks -> 401 missing API key
- https://cantonscan.com and https://explorer.canton.network -> Cloudflare challenge, not bypassed
The reward weight figures on page 4 come from the Canton Foundation’s own public configuration file rather than from a node. That is why they can be published at all: 3,722,500 of weight across 60 organisations, read 15 September 2026.
The explorers
Where to look, and what each one refuses
Seven places publish a view of the network. Each was tried between 14 and 15 September 2026, and the access each gave is recorded beside it.
- The Scan explorer on each super validator hostThe network's own explorer, one copy per node, at addresses of the form scan.sv-1.global.canton.network.sync.global. All 13 hosts answered HTTP 403 without an allowlisted IP.
- ccscan.xyz, by Blueprint InfrastructureA community explorer with a full-history index. Its stats page publishes daily transactions, coin volume and minted against burned; governance votes are browsable. Its REST API needs a free account or a key.
- cctools.networkA community dashboard with price, supply, network counts and a directory of 500 projects. Readable in a browser; its API needs a key linked to a wallet.
- ccview.ioA community explorer whose API answered 401, key required.
- cantonscan.com and explorer.canton.networkBoth were behind a Cloudflare challenge that blocked automated reading; a browser may pass it.
- canton.foundationThe Foundation's home page shows validators, super validator nodes, daily fees and coin supply in a panel credited to The Tie. The Tie's own dashboard page is a client-rendered shell with no public API found.
- Proof Group's explorerAnnounced on 4 June 2025 as the first Canton block explorer. Its address was not resolved in the sources read.
Sources
Every source, grouped by the page that uses it
Institution-level sources are not repeated in this list. Each of the 188 roster rows on page 2 has its own link to the document its capacity rests on.
Page 1 · Front
- Global Synchronizer DSO state, MainNet
https://docs.global.canton.network.sync.global/dso · accessed 2026-09-15
- Canton Network, why Canton
https://www.canton.network/why-canton · accessed 2026-09-14
- CoinGecko, Canton (CC)
https://api.coingecko.com/api/v3/coins/canton-network · accessed 2026-09-15
- Digital Asset, $355M round
https://blog.digitalasset.com/press-release/digital-asset-355m-funding-canton-capital-markets · accessed 2026-09-14
- Canton Foundation home dashboard, data by The Tie
https://canton.foundation/ · accessed 2026-09-15
Page 2 · Roster
- Canton Foundation approved super validator config, MainNet
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/canton-foundation/configs/refs/heads/main/configs/MainNet/approved-sv-id-values.yaml · accessed 2026-09-15
- Canton Foundation, about the Foundation
https://canton.foundation/about-the-foundation/ · accessed 2026-09-14
- Canton ecosystem directory, 325 entries
https://www.cantonecosystem.com/ · accessed 2026-09-14
- Visa, Canton super validator release
https://usa.visa.com/about-visa/newsroom/press-releases.releaseId.22231.html · accessed 2026-09-14
- DTCC, tokenizing DTC-custodied Treasuries
https://www.dtcc.com/press-releases/2025/dtcc-and-digital-asset-partner-to-tokenize-dtc-custodied-us-treasury-securities · accessed 2026-09-14
- cctools.network community dashboard
https://cctools.network · accessed 2026-09-14
Page 3 · Ledger
- DefiLlama, Canton chain TVL
https://api.llama.fi/v2/historicalChainTvl/Canton · accessed 2026-09-14
- DefiLlama, protocols
https://api.llama.fi/protocols · accessed 2026-09-14
- RWA.xyz, Canton network page
https://app.rwa.xyz/networks/canton · accessed 2026-09-14
- Broadridge, DLR June 2026 volumes
https://www.broadridge.com/press-release/2026/broadridges-dlr-processes-over-7-trillion-in-june · accessed 2026-09-14
- Broadridge, Distributed Ledger Repo product page
https://www.broadridge.com/capability/middle-and-back-office-solutions/post-trade-processing/distributed-ledger-repo-solutions · accessed 2026-09-14
- Canton Network, Global Synchronizer
https://www.canton.network/global-synchronizer · accessed 2026-09-14
- cctools.network, Canton assets
https://cctools.network · accessed 2026-09-14
Page 4 · Coin
- Canton Coin whitepaper, Digital Asset, July 2024
https://www.digitalasset.com/hubfs/Canton%20Network%20Files/Documents%20(whitepapers,%20etc...)/Canton%20Coin_%20A%20Canton-Network-native%20payment%20application.pdf · accessed 2026-09-14
- CIP-0078, Canton Coin fee removal
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/global-synchronizer-foundation/cips/main/cip-0078/cip-0078.md · accessed 2026-09-14
- CIP-0067, one-time allocation of historical unclaimed rewards
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/global-synchronizer-foundation/cips/main/cip-0067/cip-0067.md · accessed 2026-09-14
- CIP-0092, transition to dynamic market feeds
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/global-synchronizer-foundation/cips/main/cip-0092/cip-0092.md · accessed 2026-09-14
- CoinGecko, Canton market chart, daily
https://api.coingecko.com/api/v3/coins/canton-network/market_chart?vs_currency=usd&days=365&interval=daily · accessed 2026-09-15
- CoinGecko, Canton tickers
https://api.coingecko.com/api/v3/coins/canton-network/tickers · accessed 2026-09-15
- Canton Foundation super validator configuration
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/canton-foundation/configs/refs/heads/main/configs/MainNet/approved-sv-id-values.yaml · accessed 2026-09-15
Page 5 · Attention
- CoinGecko markets, top 60 by market cap
https://api.coingecko.com/api/v3/coins/markets?vs_currency=usd&order=market_cap_desc&per_page=60&page=1&sparkline=false · accessed 2026-09-14
- LunarCrush public coin pages
https://lunarcrush.com/coins/cc · accessed 2026-09-14
- GitHub REST API, repository and commit counts
https://api.github.com/repos/hyperledger-labs/splice · accessed 2026-09-14
- Wikimedia pageviews API, 90 days to 13 September 2026
https://wikimedia.org/api/rest_v1/metrics/pageviews/per-article/en.wikipedia/all-access/user/Canton_Network/daily/20260615/20260913 · accessed 2026-09-14
- Google Trends, web search, worldwide, 12 months
https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?date=today%2012-m&q=Canton%20Network,Hedera,Sui,Sei%20network&hl=en · accessed 2026-09-15
Page 6 · Open
- Splice validator onboarding, MainNet allowlist
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/hyperledger-labs/splice/main/docs/src/validator_operator/validator_onboarding.rst · accessed 2026-09-14
- Splice Scan API reference
https://docs.sync.global/app_dev/scan_api/index.html · accessed 2026-09-14
- Canton Improvement Proposals index
https://github.com/canton-foundation/cips · accessed 2026-09-15
- cctools API documentation
https://docs.cctools.network/api/overview.md · accessed 2026-09-15
- Canton Network FAQ
https://www.canton.network/faq · accessed 2026-09-14
Sources for this page
- Splice validator onboarding, MainNet allowlist · accessed 2026-09-14
- Splice Scan API reference · accessed 2026-09-14
- Canton Improvement Proposals index · accessed 2026-09-15
- cctools API documentation · accessed 2026-09-15
- Canton Network FAQ · accessed 2026-09-14