Wurrly · Research · Seven hundred firms, thirteen nodesPage 3 of 6 · The LedgerSpecial report · Canton Network, institutional · 15 September 2026

Page 3 · The Ledger

What is on the chain, and who counted it

Numbers about the Canton Network come from three kinds of place: the network’s own governance state, an analytics firm counting from outside, and a company publishing a figure about itself. The three are kept apart and labelled measured, third-party and announced. The largest figures published are all in the third group.

Measured

Read from the Global Synchronizer's own state or from a public index, with the raw response kept. That state is the DSO, the governance contract of the decentralised synchronizer, and Splice is the open-source software the nodes run.

  • 13 super validator node identities, voting threshold 9

    A super validator operates one of the nodes running the Global Synchronizer, the shared ledger the network's applications settle against. Held by 11 organisations. DSO epoch 3, migration 4, Splice 0.7.5.

  • Mining round 113,220, opening 2026-09-15 00:11:44 UTC

    A mining round is the ten-minute cycle in which the network prices Canton Coin and authorises new coins. The oracle price recorded on this round is $0.09656 per Canton Coin.

  • 10 billion Canton Coin authorised for issue per year

    Split 62% to application providers, 18% to validators and 20% to super validators, in the live issuance config.

  • 111 Canton Improvement Proposals in the index

    A Canton Improvement Proposal, or CIP, is the numbered document by which a change to the Global Synchronizer is proposed, voted on and recorded. 56 are final.

  • 325 entries in the Canton ecosystem directory, 97 tagged as featured apps

    Counted page by page from the directory the Canton Foundation and cantonecosystem.com both serve.

  • Total coins minted and total burned: not measurable from outside

    The Splice Scan API serves those totals and is IP-allowlisted on MainNet. All 13 super validator hosts answered HTTP 403 on 15 September 2026.

Third-party

An analytics firm publishes the figure from its own collection. The method is the firm's and is not always published.

  • $8,243,722 held in Canton applications, 14 September 2026

    Total value locked, or TVL, is the dollar value of the assets inside an application's contracts. DefiLlama reports four protocols on Canton: Temple $5,637,400, Cantex $2,387,240, Pool Party $226,291, wCC $176,834. DefiLlama's chain total is lower than the four summed. The series begins 9 May 2026 at $312,871, 129 daily points.

  • $319,154,055,062 of represented asset value, $0 distributed

    RWA.xyz counts 2 assets and 0 holders on Canton, with $0 of transfer volume over 30 days. Its dominant asset class is Repurchase Agreements.

  • 732 validators and 58 super validator nodes

    On the Canton Foundation's home page, credited on the page to The Tie, read 15 September 2026. The same panel shows $1,500,000 of daily fees and a coin supply of 39.6 billion.

  • 548.27 million transactions all time and 897,000 unique parties

    From cctools.network, a community dashboard, read 14 September 2026. It also shows 124 featured apps, about 1,000 validators, a figure cctools rounds, and 500 projects mapped.

  • 347.80 million transactions and 18.43 trillion Canton Coin transferred since genesis

    From ccscan.xyz, a community index run by Blueprint Infrastructure, read 15 September 2026 and aggregating 812 days. It shows 235,931 transactions in the trailing 24 hours, 40.38 billion coins minted, 54.12 million coins burned as fees, and a peak month of 65.3 million transactions in April 2026. Its transaction total is 200 million below cctools' figure, and its burned figure cannot include traffic purchases, which CIP-0078 measured at 94.8% of all burn.

Announced

A press page or marketing page states the figure. No measurement basis is published beside it on the page where it appears.

  • $6T+ of tokenized real-world assets

    On canton.network's why-canton page, read 14 September 2026. The page states no definition of what tokenized counts, and no page on canton.network, canton.foundation or digitalasset.com was found that publishes one.

  • $300B+ of daily U.S. Treasury repo trades

    On the same page and the same reading. The figure is not broken down by application and does not appear in the Global Synchronizer's own state.

  • 700+ connected firms, from financial powerhouses to crypto leaders

    On the same page. Digital Asset's release of 11 June 2026 states more than 700 ecosystem participants; its release of 24 June 2025 stated nearly 400.

  • $2T+ of real-world assets tokenized every month

    On canton.network's Global Synchronizer page, read 14 September 2026, in the sentence calling Canton the leading venue for digital assets.

  • Over $3.6 trillion in tokenized assets on-chain

    In the Linux Foundation release of 19 March 2025 announcing Goldman Sachs, Hong Kong FMI Services and Moody's Ratings joining the foundation.

  • $357,000,000,000 a day and $7,500,000,000,000 for June 2026 on Broadridge's Distributed Ledger Repo

    In Broadridge's own release of 7 July 2026. December 2025 was reported at $384 billion a day and nearly $9 trillion for the month.

Every figure larger than $320 billion is announced by the party that publishes it

Every dollar amount the report found about Canton, on one logarithmic axis gridded at each power of ten. Colour is the evidence label. Periods differ and each bar prints its own.

$1.00M$10.00M$100M$1.00B$10.00B$100B$1.0T$10T$8.24M held nowValue held in Canton applications · DefiLlama · third-party$966M a yearCanton Coin authorised for issue per year at the on-chain price · DSO issuance config and oracle price · measured$3.82B nowCanton Coin market capitalisation · CoinGecko · third-party$300B a dayDaily U.S. Treasury repo trades · canton.network · announced$319B recorded nowRepresented asset value, no investor transfer · RWA.xyz · third-party$357B a day, June 2026Broadridge Distributed Ledger Repo, average daily · Broadridge · announced$2.0T a monthReal-world assets tokenized every month · canton.network · announced$3.6T stated March 2025Tokenized assets on chain · Linux Foundation release · announced$6.0T stated nowTokenized real-world assets · canton.network · announced$7.5T June 2026Broadridge Distributed Ledger Repo, settled volume · Broadridge · announcedLogarithmic axis: each gridline is ten times the one before it. Bars are not comparable as quantities, because the periods differ; each bar says its own period.Colour is the evidence label. measured third-party announced

Source: canton.network and Broadridge press pages, read 14 September 2026; DefiLlama, RWA.xyz and CoinGecko, read 14 to 15 September 2026; the Global Synchronizer DSO snapshot, 15 September 2026. The reach of this figure stops at what is published: the network's own settled volume is behind the allowlisted Scan API.

The assets on the network

Seven assets listed, one supply figure that comes from the protocol

cctools.network lists the assets registered on Canton and publishes a caveat beside the table. It is quoted in full, because it decides how the rest of the table can be read.

Total supply as published by each asset's registry. Only Canton Coin is derived from the protocol itself; every CIP-56 figure is the issuer's own report, which the standard does not allow anyone to verify independently.

cctools.network, read 14 September 2026

CIP-56 is the network’s token standard.

AssetIssuerTotal supplySupply reported byHolders
CCGlobal Synchronizer39,590,000,000protocolpublic
HECTOHecto Finance500,000,000issuernot disclosed
HANDLHandlPay281,700,000issuernot disclosed
EDELxEdel Finance114,890,000issuernot disclosed
USDCxCircle via Digital Asset xReserve6,510,000issuernot disclosed
cETHRails326.1issuernot disclosed
CBTCBitSafe38.07issuercount only

Canton Coin is the one row whose supply comes from the protocol. The other six are each the issuer’s own report, under a standard that does not provide for independent verification.

The largest application

Broadridge publishes repo volumes, and its 2026 releases do not name Canton

A repurchase agreement, or repo, is a short-term secured loan: one party sells a security, usually a government bond, and agrees to buy it back at a set price on a set date. Broadridge runs a platform called Distributed Ledger Repo, and reports its volumes in its own press releases.

The release of 7 July 2026 states an average of $357,000,000,000 in daily repo transactions for June 2026 and $7,500,000,000,000 for the month, a 68 per cent year-over-year increase. The release of 8 January 2026 states $384,000,000,000 a day for December 2025 and nearly $9 trillion for the month. Neither release mentions the Canton Network or Daml, the smart-contract language Canton applications are written in.

Broadridge’s product page for the platform includes a section headed Built on Canton Technology, which reads: “Canton is a privacy-enabled blockchain network connecting financial institutions to securely synchronize assets, data, and workflows across ecosystems.” The same page restates the June 2026 figures. Broadridge appears on the roster as an app provider at grade B, and holds 100,000 of super validator reward weight, all of it active.

Whether that repo traffic settles on the Global Synchronizer or on a private synchronizer is not established by any document read. A private synchronizer publishes nothing by construction, and the Global Synchronizer’s own transaction data is behind the allowlisted Scan API. The volumes are Broadridge’s own measurement of its own platform. The largest figure attached to Canton anywhere is therefore one that no document found ties to the public network.

Two words, two measurements

Represented on the ledger, and distributed to investors

RWA.xyz splits assets recorded on a blockchain into two figures. Represented asset value covers assets that use the chain as a bookkeeping layer. The record moves, and the asset is not available for an investor to buy, hold or transfer on the chain. Distributed asset value covers assets an investor can subscribe to, hold and transfer on the chain.

For Canton on 14 September 2026 the two figures are $319,154,055,062 and $0. RWA.xyz records 2 assets, 0 holders and $0 of transfer volume over 30 days, with the whole of the represented figure in repurchase agreements and none of it transferable.

RWA.xyz defines the first line as covering “RWA tokens using the blockchain as a recordkeeping layer... without enabling onchain investor transfer or distribution.” That is a different measurement from canton.network’s $6T+ headline, and neither is asserted to be wrong. Any figure quoted from either source has to say which one it is.

Sources for this page